Gifford Farm History

Gifford Farm holds a rich history in Sarpy County, the Omaha area, and in Nebraska. Many historians believe that Lewis and Clark camped on this land on the site of our present day croplands.  Gifford Farm has been a working farm since the mid 1800’s. In 1920 this land was purchased by Dr Gifford, and later passed down to his son, Dr. Hal Gifford. In 1973 Dr. Gifford was inspired by Mrs. Marcy Mann, the wife of his resident farmer, to donate the land to the State of Nebraska to be used for purposes of education. Now under the direction of Educational Service Unit #3, Gifford Farm is able to provide Farm Education and many other Outdoor Education programs that meet the curriculum and State Standards of Education to over 30,000 students, scouts, youth groups and more, each year. Gifford Farm is also a community resource with many Festivals and open houses held each year. We welcome members of the community to come visit Gifford Farm, learn about the importance of farming to our state and our world, and have some good old fashion farm fun while here. Your support of Gifford Farm helps us to improve student learning in our community.